Each state has established a set of standards for what young children should be learning, and what educators can do to support their development. In many states, these are either linked to or include kindergarten standards. While these standards are not a curriculum, they should inform curriculum and planning in family child care programs and serve as a reference for to skills children can develop in the early years.

Alabama Developmental Standards for Preschool Children

Alaska Early Learning Guidelines, Birth to Five

Arizona’s Infant and Toddler Developmental Guidelines, Arizona Department of Education Early Learning Standards

Arkansas Child Development and Early Learning Standards: Birth through 60 Months

California Infant/Toddler Learning and Development Foundations, California Preschool Learning Foundations

Colorado Early Learning and Development Guidelines (Birth through 8)

Connecticut’s Early Learning and Development Standards, Birth through Age 5

Delaware Early Learning Foundations (Infant/Toddler), Delaware Early Learning Foundations (Ages 3-5)

DC Common Core Aligned Early Learning Standards

Florida Early Learning Developmental Standards Birth to Five

Georgia Early Learning and Development Standards (GELDS)

Hawaii Early Learning and Development Standards (HELDS)

Idaho’s Early Learning Guidelines

Illinois Early Learning Guidelines for Children Age Birth to Age Three, Illinois Early Learning and Development Standards

Indiana Early Learning Standards

Iowa Early Learning Standards

Kansas Early Learning Standards

Kentucky’s Early Childhood Standards: Birth Through Five

Louisiana’s Birth to Five Early Learning and Development Standards

Supporting Maine’s Infants and Toddlers: Guidelines for Learning and Development, Maine’s Early Learning and Development Standards (MELDS).

Maryland Healthy Beginnings

Massachusetts Early Learning Guidelines for Infants and Toddlers, Early Childhood Program Standards for Three and Four Year Olds, Preschool and Kindergarten Social and Emotional Learning (SEL) and Approaches to Play and Learning Standards, Guidelines for Preschool Learning Experience, Massachusetts Curriculum Framework

Michigan Early Childhood Standards of Quality for Prekindergarten, Michigan Academic Standards, Early Childhood Standards of Quality for Infant and Toddler Programs

Minnesota Early Childhood Indicators of Progress

Mississippi Early Learning Guidelines for Classrooms Serving Three and Four Year Old Children

Missouri Early Learning Goals

Montana’s Early Learning Standards, Birth to Age Five

Nebraska’s Early Learning Guidelines (ELGs)

Nevada Infant and Toddler Early Learning Guidelines, Nevada Pre K Standards and Early Learning Guidelines

New Hampshire Learning Standards: Birth through Five

New Jersey Birth to Three Early Learning Standards, Preschool Teaching and Learning Standards

New Mexico Early Learning Guidelines, Birth Through Kindergarten

New York State Early Learning Guidelines

North Carolina Foundations for Early Learning and Development

North Dakota Early Learning Standards Birth to Kindergarten

Ohio’s Early Learning and Development Standards

Oklahoma Early Learning Guidelines for Infants, Toddlers, and TwosOklahoma Early Learning Guidelines for Children Ages Three Through Five

Oregon’s Early Learning and Kindergarten Guidelines

Pennsylvania’s Learning Standards for Early Childhood

Rhode Island Early Learning and Development Standards

South Carolina’s Infant and Toddler Guidelines, Good Start Grow Smart: South Carolina Early Learning Standards for 3, 4, & 5 Year Old Children

South Dakota Early Learning Guidelines

Tennessee Early Learning Developmental Standards

Texas Infant, Toddler, and Three Year Old Early Learning Guidelines, Texas Prekindergarten Guidelines

Utah Early Learning Guidelines for Birth to Age Three, Utah’s Early Childhood Core Standards (Preschool)

Vermont Early Learning Standards

Virginia’s Early Learning and Development Standards (ELDS), Birth-Five Learning Guidelines

Washington State Early Learning and Development Guidelines, Birth through 3rd Grade

West Virginia Early Learning Standards Framework: Infant/Toddler, Early Learning Standards Framework for West Virginia Pre-K

Wisconsin Model Early Learning Standards

Wyoming Early Learning Guidelines For Children Ages 0-3, Wyoming Early Learning Foundations For Children Ages 3-5